“Beneath the Skies”

painting
Beneath the Skies 16x20" (acrylic on 1 1/2" canvas), R Luymes (c) 2015

Beneath the Skies
16×20″ (acrylic on 1 1/2″ canvas), R Luymes (c) 2015

After a long hiatus of posting nothing on this blog, I am back with another painting! And this particular painting has been in the works for WAY too long! I’m so happy it is finally finished and off to its new owners as a belated wedding gift.

I started this landscape with significantly more land taking up the majority of the canvas, and as I was working on it I wasn’t feeling inspired…so I took the plunge and slapped three coats of gesso over top of the painting, turned it upside down, and began again. I’m glad I seized that small moment of bravery–it’s hard letting go of something you’ve put so much effort into even if you’re feeling less than inspired by what you’re creating. I am a thousand times more pleased with the end result now, so it was definitely worth the risk! I am fairly certain that my new-found inspiration had much to do with focusing on that big open sky filled with billowing clouds. I can never get enough of the sky!

One thought on ““Beneath the Skies”

Leave a comment